7 replies to this topic

#1 WA Policeman

WA Policeman

I'm New !

• Newbie Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 February 2013 - 10:06 AM

Hello,

I was hoping for someone to give me some information about my issue.

I am currently a serving Police Officer in the Western Australia Police. My wife and I will be moving back to the UK in January 2014. I am an Australian citizen (and will have unrestricted rights in the UK) and my wife is British. I am hoping to join the British Police when we return.

I have done some research and understand that I will have to go through the recruitment process from the beginning. I can clearly see after many Google sessions that the British Police aren't screaming out for applicants as the Australian Police are, hence why I can't seem to find any information about Aussie Police transferring to the UK.

When we return in January I will have 3 years experience being a Police Officer (with a Diploma in Public Safety (Policing)) and an Associate Degree in Justice and Criminology. I have previously lived in the UK for about 3 years and have been advised by some Constabularies that my 3 years  experience in the WA Police may be enough to allow me to get in.

I was hoping that someone out there may have been in my position as some point and could tell me about their experience getting into the UK Police. Whenever I contact Constabularies I tend to get a copy and paste response about the recruitment process.

Any help in this issue would be agreat help.

Thank you fior your time.

Richard Clark.

#2 WA Policeman

WA Policeman

I'm New !

• Newbie Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 February 2013 - 10:11 AM

Sorry, also wanted to know if my experience in the WA Police entitles me to any advanced standing, allowing me to complete the recruitment process and/ or probation faster.

Thanks.

#3 scousejon

scousejon

UKPOLICEONLINE Regular

• Senior Resident Members
  • 896 posts

Posted 24 February 2013 - 12:02 PM

Honest answer I dont know.